How are you going gluten-free this year? 

A gluten-free diet is normally associated with celiac disease, a genetic autoimmune disorder where gluten can damage the intestinal tract. But people with celiac disease aren’t the only ones going gluten-free in 2020.  

No two diets are alike, and different people respond to foods differently. So while proteins from cereal grains (1) are considered safe for almost anyone without celiac disease, many people find that a gluten-free diet works best for them. It may be anecdotal, but if your diet isn’t working for you, gluten-free is worth a try. 

Over 10 years ago, going gluten-free meant giving up all your favorite foods, but a lot has changed in the culinary world since then. If you like it, there’s a gluten-free version of it. You just need to know where to look.  

Gluten-Free Flours 

A person pouring white flour into a metal bowl

Wheat flour is one of the biggest culprits standing between good food and a gluten-free diet, but flour alternatives are now so common that you can make virtually anything with them. Almond, oat, chickpea, and coconut flours are all popular alternatives in pastas, breads, and pastries. 

Gluten-Free Convenience Foods 

A glass bowl overflowing with popcorn

Any diet, whether it’s gluten-free or not, will be challenged most when you’re in a pinch. The people who travel or work odd hours know what I’m talking about  those moments when you need something quick and almost nothing is open. 

But now gluten-free foods are everywhere. Not that fast or convenience foods should be the backbone of any diet, but it’s nice to know that you have a gluten-free option when these moments arise. 

Keto and Paleo Diets 

An illustrated food pyramid listing daily portions of different food groups

Remember the old food pyramid (2)? The one with the large base filled with bread, pasta, and cereal? Our understanding of the role grains play in our diet has changed since that old food pyramid in 1992, and new dietary trends reflect that. Diets like keto and paleo, which focus more on protein and fat and less on carbohydrates, give people going gluten-free more options for food.  

Isagenix Is Gluten-Free 

3 bags of Whole Blend IsaLean Shake in different flavors

Small humblebrag: Every Isagenix product, from BĒA™ Sparkling Energy Drink to IsaLean® Bars, is glutenfree! So, in line with food alternatives, quick convenience, and newer diets like keto and paleo, you’ll never have to worry about gluten with a single Isagenix product.  

Remember, it’s OK to eat gluten if you don’t have celiac disease, but everyone reacts differently to different foods. If you do want to give gluten-free a chance, 2020 is a better time than ever for great gluten-free food.